
 

 
   

          
 

  
 

            
  
    

  
           

  
     

    
 

 

   
   

          
        

     
 

 
  

  
   

   
 

 
  
  
  

 
 

   
   

   
  

 
 

     
 
 

  
 

   
         

    
 

 
 

December 2, 2024 

A Property Finder is defined as an individual or business entity, who, for a fee or other consideration, seeks 
to locate, deliver, recover, or assist in the recovery of property that is distributable to the owner or presumed 
abandoned. Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 116B-52(11a), a Property Finder must be licensed as Private 
Investigator by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board pursuant to Chapter 74C of the 
General Statutes per N.C.G.S. § 116B-78.1(a). Any exemptions under Chapter 74C are not applicable if 
acting as a Property Finder.  Only Licensed Private Investigators may enter into a Property Finder 
Agreement with a Claimant. Questions concerning licensing should be directed to the Private Protective 
Services Board at www.ncdps.gov or (919) 788-5320. 

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 116B-78(f), a Property Finder must register each calendar year with the N.C. 
Department of State Treasurer (Department) and must pay a $100.00 registration fee. The fee must be 
paid via check or money order. Please find attached a registration form for your completion. If the form is 
not fully completed, it will be returned to you for completion. Your registration will not be processed until a 
fully completed registration form and copy of the license issued by the Private Protective Services Board 
has been submitted, along with either a check or money order in the amount of $100.00. You will be notified 
if your registration has been approved or denied. Note: Registration approval confirmation from the 
Department must be received prior to executing contracts with potential owners of unclaimed property. 

A completed Property Finder Registration Form may be submitted via a secured portal at 
https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/tax-doc-upload (see screenshot below) using the Finder’s Tax ID or SSN 
listed on the registration form or it may be mailed to the address below.  The $100.00 registration fee should 
be mailed to the address below, along with a note stating that the registration form has been submitted 
online. 

NC Department of State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property Division 
3200 Atlantic Avenue 
Raleigh NC 27604-1668 

Property Finders must follow the timing restrictions, disclosure requirements, fee cap, and all other 
requirements of N.C.G.S. § 116B-78 and N.C.G.S. § 116B-78.1 to legally operate within North Carolina. 
Note: The maximum allowed fee of 20% is ONLY applicable for North Carolina administered estates subject 
to N.C.G.S. § 28A-22-11 and surplus funds. Per statute, total fees and costs associated with claiming the 
property shall not exceed 20%. Attorney’s fees, court costs, etc. shall be included in the 20% and reduce 
the fee available to the finder.For estates not administered in North Carolina and for all other property, 
excluding surplus funds, a maximum allowed fee of 20% or $1,000.00, whichever is less, would apply. 
Please note, per Session Law 2021-157, a Property Finder may not qualify to serve as a personal 
representative per N.C.G.S. § 28A-4-2 (11) and N.C.G.S. § 28A-9-1 (5).  Also, per N.C.G.S. § 28A-22-11, 
agreements with heirs are subject to the provisions of Article 4 of Chapter 116B of the General Statutes. 

In order for the Department to monitor compliance with all the requirements of N.C.G.S. § 116B-78 and 
N.C.G.S. § 116B-78.1, Property Finders must follow the steps below to prevent a claim from being denied 
and possibly suspension of registration with the Department. Please be aware that, due to the attestation 
required with the electronic signature, Property Finders are prohibited from generating claims online. 

3200 Atlantic Avenue  •  Raleigh, North Carolina  27604 
Telephone: (919) 814-4200 • Fax: (919) 855-5811 • www.NCCash.gov 

http://www.ncdps.gov/
http://www.ncdps.gov/
https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/tax-doc-upload
www.NCCash.gov
https://1,000.00
https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/tax-doc-upload
www.ncdps.gov


 
 

 
      

          

       
     

 
     

       
 
    

  
 

 
 

 
 

 
         

 
 

 
       

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
  

    
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• To potentially obtain a claim ID number, Property Finders must complete the Finder Claim Number 
Request Form located on the Department’s website and forward the request to 
Finder@nctreasurer.com. Upon receipt, the Department will review the request and return the 
spreadsheet with assigned claim ID number(s) for those requests approved to proceed.  A claim ID 
number will not be provided for those requests with incomplete or inaccurate information. 

• Once a claim ID number has been provided to a Property Finder, a statutorily compliant finder 
agreement may be provided via secured portal at https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/claim-doc-
upload (see screenshot below) using the claim ID number or may be mailed to: 

NC Department of State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property Division 
PO Box 20431 
Raleigh, NC 27619-0431 

• Upon receipt of a statutorily compliant finder agreement, a claim form detailing the properties 
included in the agreement and the initial evidence needed to begin processing the claim will be 
emailed to the Property Finder.  

• Any required claim documentation may be submitted via the secured portal mentioned above using 
the claim ID number or may be mailed to: 

NC Department of State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property Division 
PO Box 20431 
Raleigh, NC 27619-0431 

• Once the Department receives the claim form and agreement, it may request that you provide 
additional information to enable the Department to authenticate and evaluate the claim. If you do 
not respond within 90 days from the date of such request, the claim will be discontinued, at which 
point a new claim, along with supporting documents, will need to be filed with the Department. 
Claim status may be viewed online at https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/claim-status-search. 

3200 Atlantic Avenue •  Raleigh, North Carolina 27604 
Telephone: (919) 814-4200 • Fax: (919) 855-5811 • www.NCCash.gov 

mailto:Finder@nctreasurer.com
https://unclaimed.nccash.com/app/claim-doc-upload
https://unclaimed.nccash.com/app/claim-doc-upload
https://unclaimed.nccash.com/app/claim-doc-upload
https://unclaimed.nccash.com/app/claim-status-search
www.NCCash.gov
https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/claim-status-search
https://unclaimed.nccash.gov/app/claim-doc
mailto:Finder@nctreasurer.com


 
 

 
      

          

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
  

Property Finder Document Upload Screen 

3200 Atlantic Avenue •  Raleigh, North Carolina 27604 
Telephone: (919) 814-4200 • Fax: (919) 855-5811 • www.NCCash.gov 

www.NCCash.gov


 
 

 
      

          

 
 

                         

 

 

Claims Document Upload Screen 

3200 Atlantic Avenue •  Raleigh, North Carolina 27604 
Telephone: (919) 814-4200 • Fax: (919) 855-5811 • www.NCCash.gov 

www.NCCash.gov


 
 

 
      

          

                               
                                                                        

          
        

   
                          

   
 

     
 

   
  

      
 

 

          
               

 

      

   
 

      

   
 

       

   

  
 

  
   

    
      

    
    

  
   

   
    

  
      

 
    
     

 
 

                                                                                                                                                    
  

 
    

     
   

    
    
    

 

     
     

Property Finder Registration Form 
N.C.G.S. § 116B-78(f) Calendar Year 2025 

Registered Finder (Business Entity or Individual’s Name and Title to appear on Finder Agreements): 

_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Primary Contact Name (if different than above):___________________________________________________ 

Contact Telephone Number:______________________ Contact Email:________________________________ 

FEIN:______________________ or SSN: ______________________ State of Incorporation or Residence:______ 

Name of individual(s) contracted by Registered Finder who is/are registered as a Private Investigator with NC Private 
Protective Services Board. Please provide copy of PI License for each. (Attach listing if additional space is needed.) 

NC PI Licensee Name:_________________________________________ NC PI License Number:_______________ 

NC PI Licensee Email:_________________________________________ 

NC PI Licensee Name:_________________________________________ NC PI License Number:_______________ 

NC PI Licensee Email:_________________________________________ 

NC PI Licensee Name:_________________________________________ NC PI License Number:_______________ 

NC PI Licensee Email:_________________________________________ 

I certify that the information furnished herewith is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.  I further certify that I 
have read N.C.G.S. §116B-78 and related statutes and acknowledge that: 
• I shall not enter into a contract to locate, deliver or recover property any time from the date the property is distributable and until 

after the NC Department of State Treasurer has held the property for at least 24 months. 
• Agreements with owners must comply with all requirements stated in N.C.G.S. § 116B-78(b). Noncompliant Agreements are void 

and unenforceable and any related claims will be denied. Same owner(s) shall sign Agreement and Claim Form. 
• Agreements with owners must be signed, with signature notarized, by Licensed Private Investigator(s) named above who is 

authorized to bind the property finder agreement with owner. 
• Total fees for the sum of all properties identified and due owner, regardless of the number of claims submitted, shall be limited to 

20% or $1,000, whichever is less, unless the agreement is subject to N.C.G.S. § 28A-22-11 (North Carolina administered estates 
ONLY), in which case, the total fees and costs shall be limited to 20%. 

• I, or my agents, including legal counsel, shall not serve as a personal representative of an estate. 
• I will contact the NC Department of State Treasurer to request and obtain a claim form and will not generate a claim form online 

(www.nccash.gov). 
• Copies of individual agreements must be submitted to the NC Department of State Treasurer prior to the creation of a claim form. 
• All claim forms must be signed by the owner(s) before a notary, if applicable. Same owner(s) shall sign Agreement and Claim 

Form. 

Print Name: Signed: Date: _____________ 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. Property Finder Registration Form will not be processed unless all lines above are properly completed and requested information 

is submitted, including the $100 registration fee, via check or money order, and copy of PI License(s) 
2. If request is on behalf of a business entity, provide evidence of position and/or authority of primary contact to act on behalf of the 

business entity. 
3. The period of registration is the current calendar year or any part thereof and ends on December 31st of each year. 
4. Copy of new PI License must be submitted within 30 days of any PI Licenses that expire during registration calendar year. 
Information provided on this form may contain Personal Identifying Information (PII) that should be protected from 
unauthorized access. Use caution when transmitting this form, including email encryption when applicable. 

3200 Atlantic Avenue •  Raleigh, North Carolina 27604 
Telephone: (919) 814-4200 • Fax: (919) 855-5811 • www.NCCash.gov 

www.NCCash.gov
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